List of Indian Prime Ministers Download PDF | PSC, SSC, UPSC Notes

Every competitive exam aspirant should learn about the former prime ministers of India. Competitive exams like SSC, UPSC, bank exam and Kerala psc used to include a question about the Indian prime minister. Recently Kerala psc has changed its question pattern. More number of statement-type questions were included in the recent Kerala psc examination. These types of questions are usually seen in SSC, UPSC and bank examinations. So candidates need to understand every point related to the prime ministers of India. We created a pdf file which contains all the information about former Indian prime ministers. This pdf includes all the information you need to know about our former prime ministers. Exam aspirants can download the pdf file and even take the printout of the file.

The prime minister is the head of the government and is responsible for the country’s laws and policies. India has had a total of 14 prime ministers since it gained independence from British rule in 1947. The first prime minister was Jawaharlal Nehru, who served until his death in 1964. He was followed by Lal Bahadur Shastri, who also died while in office. Indira Gandhi, Nehru’s daughter, then became prime minister and she served for more than 15 years. Her son, Rajiv Gandhi, succeeded her after she was assassinated in 1984. Since then, there have been a number of different prime ministers, each with their own unique policies and accomplishments.

India has had many great Prime Ministers. The most recent one is Narendra Modi, who was elected in 2014. He is the first Prime Minister to be born in independent India. Awareness of current affairs and general knowledge are essential in every competitive exam. So collecting full information from all the possible sources is the only way to increase your general awareness knowledge.

India has had a long and varied history of Prime Ministers, who have led the country through various challenges and triumphs. Here’s a list of all the Indian Prime Ministers who have served the nation since independence.

  • 1. Jawaharlal Nehru (1947-1964) – Nehru was India’s first Prime Minister and served for a record 17 years. He was a leading figure in the Indian independence movement and played a key role in shaping India’s foreign policy.
  • 2. Lal Bahadur Shastri (1964-1966) – Shastri was the second Prime Minister of India and led the country during the Indo-Pakistan War of 1965. He is also remembered for his famous slogan, “Jai Jawan Jai Kisan”.
  • 3. Indira Gandhi (1966-1977, 1980-1984) – Indira Gandhi was the daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru and served as India’s third Prime Minister. She was the first woman to hold the position and served two terms, with a brief interval in between. Her tenure was marked by both progress and controversy.
  • 4. Morarji Desai (1977-1979) – Desai was the first non-Congress Prime Minister of India and served for two years. He is remembered for his role in the Indian independence movement and his contribution to India’s economic policies.
  • 5. Charan Singh (1979-1980) – Charan Singh served as India’s Prime Minister for a brief period of six months. He was a leading figure in the Indian independence movement and also served as the Deputy Prime Minister under Morarji Desai.
  • 6. Indira Gandhi (1980-1984) – Gandhi returned to power in 1980 and served until her assassination in 1984. Her second tenure was marked by the emergence of Sikh separatism in Punjab and the Operation Blue Star.
  • 7. Rajiv Gandhi (1984-1989) – Rajiv Gandhi, the son of Indira Gandhi, was India’s youngest Prime Minister at the age of 40. He served for five years and was known for his efforts to modernize India’s economy.
  • 8. V.P. Singh (1989-1990) – V.P. Singh was India’s eighth Prime Minister and served for just over a year. He is remembered for his implementation of the Mandal Commission, which aimed to provide greater representation for India’s lower castes in government jobs.
  • 9. Chandra Shekhar (1990-1991) – Chandra Shekhar served as India’s Prime Minister for a brief period of seven months. He was a socialist politician and played a key role in the formation of the Janata Dal party.
  • 10. P.V. Narasimha Rao (1991-1996) – P.V. Narasimha Rao served as India’s Prime Minister from 1991 to 1996. He is credited with ushering in economic reforms that helped liberalize India’s economy.
  • 11. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1996, 1998-2004) – Atal Bihari Vajpayee was India’s first Prime Minister from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and served for three terms. He is remembered for his efforts to improve India’s relations with its neighbors and for his famous speech at the United Nations General Assembly.
  • 12. Manmohan Singh (2004-2014) – Manmohan Singh served as India’s Prime Minister for two terms and is credited with overseeing India’s economic growth during this period. He is also remembered for his role in implementing the Indo-US nuclear deal.
  • 13. Narendra Modi (2014-present) –

Narendra Modi is the current Prime Minister of India, having been in office since 2014. He is one of India’s most prominent political figures and has gained a reputation for his ambitious reforms and strong leadership.

Early Life and Political Career

Modi was born on September 17, 1950, in Vadnagar, a small town in Gujarat. He was the third of six children and grew up in a modest family. Modi was interested in politics from an early age and joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) as a young man. He later joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and rose through the ranks to become the Chief Minister of Gujarat in 2001.

Modi’s tenure as Chief Minister was marked by a focus on economic development and attracting investment to Gujarat. He was praised for his efforts to streamline bureaucracy, reduce corruption, and improve infrastructure. He also gained a reputation for being a strong and decisive leader, unafraid to take on powerful interests.

Political Rise

Modi’s success in Gujarat brought him national attention, and in 2013, he was named the BJP’s candidate for Prime Minister in the 2014 general elections. Modi campaigned on a platform of economic growth and development, promising to create jobs and improve infrastructure.

Modi’s campaign was a resounding success, and the BJP won a landslide victory, winning 282 of the 543 seats in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian parliament. Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister on May 26, 2014.

As Prime Minister

Since becoming Prime Minister, Modi has pursued an ambitious agenda of economic and social reforms. He has launched a number of programs aimed at boosting economic growth, including the “Make in India” campaign, which aims to promote manufacturing in India, and the “Digital India” campaign, which aims to expand internet access and promote the use of technology in government services.

Modi has also launched a number of social welfare programs aimed at improving the lives of India’s poorest citizens. These include the “Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana,” which aims to provide bank accounts to every Indian household, and the “Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana,” which provides free cooking gas connections to women in rural areas.

Modi has also taken a strong stance on national security issues, particularly in relation to India’s long-standing conflict with Pakistan. In 2016, he launched a “surgical strike” against terrorist camps in Pakistan-administered Kashmir, which was widely seen as a response to a terrorist attack on an Indian army base.

Modi’s policies have been praised by many, but he has also faced criticism from some quarters. Critics have accused him of pursuing a Hindu nationalist agenda and of failing to do enough to address issues such as unemployment and social inequality.

error: Content is protected !!